2017 National Convention & Career Fair
August 19 - 21, 2017
Marriott Marquis Houston | Houston, TX


2017 Nomination Information


  • Ascend Inspiring Across Generations (IAG) Awards

    • Inspirational Leader (CXOs & Executives)

    • High-Impact Leader (Senior Managers)

    • Rising Star (High-potential Managers)

  • Affinity/ERG Leadership Award (Group)


On behalf of Ascend, we invite you to submit nominations for the various leadership awards which will be presented at the 2017 National Convention & Career Fair taking place at the Marriott Marquis Houston on August 19 - 21, 2017.

The Ascend Inspiring Across Generations (IAG) Recognitions identify Inspirational Leaders (CXOs & executives), High-Impact Leaders (senior managers) and Rising Stars (high-potential managers) who have dedicated themselves to promoting Pan-Asian leadership in business and within the community. All industry sectors and functions are eligible. Beyond significant achievement of—or potential for—professional success, nominees should demonstrate engagement in the Pan-Asian community and volunteerism through mentoring, leadership development and board service.

The Ascend Affinity/Employee Resource Group (ERG) Leadership Award recognizes a Pan-Asian Affinity, ERG, Business Resource Group (BRG), or A Multicultural group that has shown outstanding leadership and initiative in promoting Pan-Asian visibility, diversity and value through one or more of the following areas: leadership development, talent acquisition, retention, cultural awareness in the business setting, marketing, business development, and community involvement. These groups are typically led by managers and professionals in the organization with an executive sponsor and are designed to further personal and professional development, networking, and sharing of best practices while promoting diversity and recognition of Pan-Asians inside and outside the organization.


Awardees must be present at the Ascend National Convention to receive the award.
The awards will be presented at our 2017 National Convention at the Marriott Marquis Houston. We hope to see you there!

By June 30th, the Awards Committee will inform the winners and will also reach out to all individuals who have submitted nominations.

Previous Winners


Jenny Ming, President & Chief Executive Officer, Charlotte Russe
Dr. Mahendra Lohani, Senior Vice President of Programs, Heifer International
Sudhir Kondisetty, Principal, RSM US
Kalpana Ramakrishnan, Partner, KPMG
Stella Cha, Manager, Advisory, EY


Seong Ohm, Senior Vice President, Sam’s Club
Nelson J. Chai, President, CIT Group Inc.
Sara Kumiko Abiusi, Managing Director, Accenture
Yogesh Bahl, Managing Director, AlixPartners
Sodexo, Award received by Rohini Anand, Senior Vice President &
Global Chief Diversity Officer
Esther Jeong, Global Diversity & Inclusion Manager, Moody’s
Danny Wang, Audit Senior Manager, Deloitte & Touche LLP


Norman Y. Mineta, Mineta Transportation Institute
Microsoft, The Asians Employee Resource Group (ERG)
Alka Patel, BNY Mellon
Thomas Phelps IV, Laserfiche
Phyllis J. Campbell, JPMorgan Chase & Co.
Vivek Gurumurthy, Verizon
Michelle Cheng, Johnson & Johnson


Ajay Banga, MasterCard
Sue-Jean Lin, Allergan
Anil Matai, Bank of America
Christine Park, BNY Mellon
Kathleen Nitta, Ernst & Young